iPhone4 Review Day One

Thanks to a dusty Christmas Apple gift card I took the leap of faith to pick up an iPhone4.

Truth be told I ordered this thing before Antennagate came to light.  So with all the scathing reviews in the headlines my expectations were fully grounded as the device arrived at the house yesterday.

Ordering online was actually fairly easy and felt better than waiting in those increasingly crowded Airstream-styled retail stores.

Unboxing & Activation:

The build quality and packaging was mostly pristine, except for a slight dent on the black edging around the lower right glass.  Overall the device had done well on its multi-stop journey from China.

I connected the iPhone4 to iTunes and following a fairly straightforward set of instructions made Apple simple was able to activate my iPhone with 3-5 minutes.  That surprised me.  There is something to be said for that – activating your new cellphone in 180-300 seconds.  That is outstanding.

Bump(er) and Run

Before even attempting making calls and browsing the internet, I immediately slapped on the Apple-branded bumper to the aluminum siding.  The bumper fits well and apparently is the perfect foil for call/internet connectivity issues.  In fact the phone with bumper wrap looks pretty solid.  Is it worth $30 bucks?  Heck no.  But is it worth it to avoid dealing with one of the biggest gaffes in cellphone design/engineering?  Absolutely.  (Note to Apple PR: It will be even better if made free to those who purchase the iPhone4 or an iTunes/Apple store credit for $30 for those who already have the iPhone4 – cheaper than recalls and class action lawsuits IMHO).

Call Quality & Function

Let me say this – the new chip powering the iPhone4 is stunningly fast.  The screen is outstanding.  The OS is the among best in its class (I still feel Android offers more potential).  It nearly makes up for all the antenna/wireless call issues…  So far I’m thinking it does, but time will tell.

I can already clearly see the next Achilles heel on this device is the questionable choice of putting glass on *both* sides of the phone.  Its 2x the fear or breaking the phone if it drops to the ground.

I’ve already begun my search for a silicon-full body case for this thing since I’ve decided the iPhone4 might best be described as the Swarovski of cell phones.

But so far…like Steve says – it just works.  How long will it hold up worries me.  I guess time and Apple Care will tell.

By robmayeda

Leave a Reply

